Ducati.org forum banner

1098 bottom end bites the dust.

4K views 22 replies 6 participants last post by  strat10 
#1 ·
Started the bike to go ride, and heard a horrible noise from the motor. Shut it down and took it into my mechanic. Looks like the rod bearing crapped the bed. SO BUMMED! Brass bits in the oil.

After a bit of investigating, seems like maybe Fox Performance are the guys to repair the crank and rods? Just trying to figure out the best path forward here. I am not a mechanic. Maybe used motor, but dont want to run into the same thing again down the road. I LOVE my bike.

9000 miles, WTF! Ride it hard, but didn't expect this. Always serviced.

UGGG.......

#3 ·
Started the bike to go ride, and heard a horrible noise from the motor. Shut it down and took it into my mechanic. Looks like the rod bearing crapped the bed. SO BUMMED! Brass bits in the oil.

After a bit of investigating, seems like maybe Fox Performance are the guys to repair the crank and rods? Just trying to figure out the best path forward here. I am not a mechanic. Maybe used motor, but dont want to run into the same thing again down the road. I LOVE my bike.

UGGG.......

"New" engine on Craigslist in South Florida for $2200

#8 ·
Not that catastrophic. Mine blew on track and all I felt was a slight loss of thrust and big change in sound. Then again I suppose if I didn't stop right away that the engine could have grenaded itself...

Unlucky OP. Been there. But it doesn't have to be the end of your Duc

#7 ·