1098S Suspension Upgrade help needed - ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts

Remember me
Login  |   Register

ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts > Superbike Model Specific > 1098/1198

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 4th, 2017, 05:45 AM   #1

ducatis in the registry:
[1098 S]

1098S Suspension Upgrade help needed

Hi all, I picked up my 08 1098s last fall. I've had it on the track a couple times and am in the process of doing some upgrades and service during the winter.

I've read that despite the 'S' having Ohlins suspension, both ends should be upgraded. Opinions on this are welcome.

I'm very new to the track but a firm believer in equipping myself with the best kit I can afford and try to remove any equipment related issues from my learning. I've got a set of 30mm offset triples on the way, but what about the forks? It seems as though there are a few options up front from Ohlins, 1) Performance kit (not even sure what this includes), 2) NIX 30mm FGK213 cartridge kit, or 3) FGRT 213 forks, and maybe even 4) the TTX25 FGR163 gas cartridge kit??. Or maybe just a fresh service of the OEM Ohlins and setup assist at my next track day is sufficient for a noob like me? Is there any demand (or compelling reason) for me sell the OEM forks and replace with the full FGRT fork?

A few Ohlins options for the rear as well: 1 )TTX MkI DU788 , 2) TTX MkII DU931, or 3) the Dan Kyle TTX-GP DU362 with linear link.

I'm leaning towards the 30mm cartridge and the DU931, maybe together or maybe do the front now and add the rear later.

My forks are sitting with my local (I'm military stationed overseas) Ohlins guy, but he can't get the cartridge kit for some reason and the performance kit is backordered till June. He's offered to order the parts and pieces of the performance kit individually and do the upgrade that way, but if I'm gonna spend the money, I think I'd rather pop for a more substantial upgrade.