2018 Pani 959 geometry/ track settings - ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts

Remember me
Login  |   Register

ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts > Superbike Model Specific > 959 Panigale

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 2nd, 2018, 08:50 PM   #1

No ducatis in the registry

2018 Pani 959 geometry/ track settings

So I have been away from ducs for a few years riding a gsxr750 at the track. A friend crashed his 3 week old pani 959 at the track and insurance wrote it off...I purchased it at great price thinking it would be an improvement over the older gsxr...somethings I liked today when I tried it out....the handling was not up to snuff....just for info i have been riding the track for 7 years and run at a very decent pace in the fast group...i work and service my own suspension and know a thing or two about it...when I got the pani home I measured the sags and not so surprising after my 848 I noted the the suspension was bery unbalanced....soft up front stiff out back...made some adjustments and ran 36mm sag up front a 28 out back...bike did not seem to want to tip in...understeering...added some preload to the rear shock and took some out of the front thinking it would help...wrong...made things worse...went the other way on the shock...wrong again...I am a little stumped...some time back on the gsxr750 reminded me how a well sorted bike should handle...drop the forks yokes? go back to the stock settings but the front sage was 52mm...any suggestions from those who have raced or tracked extensively on a pani 959

thanks Moe

2001 gsxr600 track only (sold)
moeracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old September 2nd, 2018, 09:36 PM   #2

ducatis in the registry:
[1098 S]

Did you check the wheel alignment? It may well be out after being written off. The swing arms tend to be fairly soft. Likewise verify the steering head angle.