Hello and I just ordered mine... - ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts

Remember me
Login  |   Register

ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts > Other Models > Diavel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2011, 06:41 AM   #1

No ducatis in the registry

Hello and I just ordered mine...

I'm a newbie on this forum and to Ducati as well. So, firstly a hello to all.

Even leaving aside its brand associations, my like for the Diavel's design and function was there from first seeing its images. I liked its sort of retro, sort of cruiser, look. I was intrigued by the controversy the bike generated. It was an indication that it wasn't going to be a bike that would fit into any conventional mould. In Apple's famous quote for some of it's new products..."it is a game changer". IMO, the Diavel could just be that for the market segment it creates. One that fits between cruiser and sport and with acceptable compromises so that it becomes the top dog in the niche it creates.

So about my needs... I wanted a comfortable bike with heaps of performance which is reasonably nimble for the bendy roads I love to ride on and be good for the occasional few hundred mile ride. It should also be different enough from my current rides so as to broaden my riding options. I'll admit that I'm a slim young "old fart" at 52 and wanted a bike that I could handle well and and one that is reasonably light. BUT I just do not want a "cruiser"! So...

...Along comes the Diavel and I talk to some fellows I know who went to the Ducati dealer launch/rides in CA last week. Their impressions (even from some initial pessimists) were such that I have gone ahead and ordered a Diavel Carbon (Red)! The bike ticks most of the boxes on my req list and I have no reservations about my ordering the bike. I'm actually excited!

The bike arrives sometime this month. We shall see.
Remove Ads
Old March 9th, 2011, 08:31 PM   #2

ducatis in the registry:
[848]