Mushy rear brake even after bleeding - ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts

Remember me
Login  |   Register

ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts > Ducati Monster Forums > Ducati Monster 821

Like Tree12Likes
  • 4 Post By Buhgaboo
  • 1 Post By brhiller
  • 3 Post By Shrek
  • 1 Post By lop
  • 1 Post By roadkillrob
  • 2 Post By [email protected]

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 16th, 2019, 09:50 PM   #1

No ducatis in the registry

Mushy rear brake even after bleeding

Hi guys,

As you can see from the title, the my rear brake on my Monster 821 has no stopping power. This is my first bike and I have never worked on a motorcycle before, except for maintaining the chain. The brake pedal goes to the bottom of the travel and does nothing, like literally nothing, I can move the bike with the brake pedal pressed all the way to the bottom. So I watched couple of youtube videos on "How to bleed motorcycle brakes" and bleed the brake as suggested in the videos and the service manual, there were no bubbles after using almost half of the brake fluid from a brand new castrol DOT 4 brake fluid. Even after doing this, it didn't change anything. Do you think I did not bleed the brakes correctly or is there issue I should look at?.

Thank you.

Last edited by manoj517; April 16th, 2019 at 09:53 PM.
manoj517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old April 17th, 2019, 02:09 AM   #2

ducatis in the registry:
[Monster 821]

1.remove caliper....squeeze pistons whilst removing fluid from reservoir

2.put something between pads to keep them open

3.connect tube to bleeder and press pedal to build pressure...open bleeder and close before pedal hits bottom