My 1998 750 Monster, back home after 10 years - ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts

Remember me
Login  |   Register

ducati.org forum | the home for ducati owners and enthusiasts > Ducati Monster Forums > Monster

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 11th, 2019, 01:01 PM   #1

No ducatis in the registry

My 1998 750 Monster, back home after 10 years

I recently welcomed my first Monster back to my custody...she's a '98 750...I always loved her...

But she won't start...I'm a professional mechanic and actually put this one together from boxes the PO gave up on...it's had three owners since me, but meticulous care, including a full Ducati dealer service in the past 200 miles (two years ago, valve adjust, belts, oil, filters)...this is why I got her so inexpensively this time...

Before I go dig into the fix at all, I thought I'd ask for guidance here from knowledgeable people...

To take a quick look I pulled both plugs and cranked her over...fresh AGM battery, good starter response, I think the carbs are at least allowing a choked run (according to the PO...) and gas is flowing...no spark I could see at all, and not even a peep through the mufflers...she's bone stock except for the Arrow pipes and K&N filter that were on her when I sold her ten years ago...I'm pretty certain it's ignition, where should I focus my attention? Thanks in advance...
kwbikr is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old July 12th, 2019, 09:08 PM   #2

coils.

buy a dyna set from Chris Kelly, or mod some gt40's.

these are pretty simple bikes, not too much.

That said I have not done these on The Boss' 750 monster that has been sitting in the shed for 3 year now not starting with no spark.
The reality of this situation maybe obscured by living room curtains.
Shrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 02:22 AM   #3

Your re aquisition