Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2006 1098s with 22,000km and my tech is suggesting I need a new clutch kit when I took it in to get a 14T front sprocket installed. My idea was to experiment with gearing down to make it bit more civilised at lower speeds but he was saying is more likely the clutch is knackered but I have limited experience with these things so not sure what to do.

I dont believe there is anything weird happening with the clutch, it is not grabbing or slipping and just makes the typical Ducati rattly ringing bells sound at idle - which I love. I rang a tech from a previous place I went to and he suggested is not likely the clutch and is just typical 1098 being high compression and hard to get on with at low speed. Live with it more or less.

Any suggestions out there?

I don't mind spending the cashola but need to know there is value and results will be justified

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
The standard test for detecting worn-out clutch plate friction material is to watch for slippage when accelerating in top gear. Some people are just harder on clutches than others, so service mileage will vary over a wide range.

When I turn my bike over to a dealer, I know that I'm gonna get screwed with— I just don't know how ...

·
Registered
122 Posts
I have a 2006 1098s with 22,000km and my tech is suggesting I need a new clutch kit when I took it in to get a 14T front sprocket installed. My idea was to experiment with gearing down to make it bit more civilised at lower speeds but he was saying is more likely the clutch is knackered but I have limited experience with these things so not sure what to do.