Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Perhaps this topic has been beaten to death but I'm asking anyway.

Recently sold my 848 evo and having regrets and withdrawals. Caught myself looking at some 1098s and was wondering, is the 1098s much more preferred than the base? Are the Ohlins forks and shock that beneficial for street riding? I'm still a novice and 848 was more than enough power. So for a weekend rider, does the extra money for an S make sense??

·
Registered
303 Posts
Perhaps this topic has been beaten to death but I'm asking anyway.

Recently sold my 848 evo and having regrets and withdrawals. Caught myself looking at some 1098s and was wondering, is the 1098s much more preferred than the base? Are the Ohlins forks and shock that beneficial for street riding? I'm still a novice and 848 was more than enough power. So for a weekend rider, does the extra money for an S make sense??

My $0.02.

It depends on how cheap you can get the 1098 or the 1098S for. The upgrades on the S are worth $, just depends on "how much" to you.

The forged wheels are lighter. Indeed it is a performance improvement with less rotational mass. Will you feel it on the street? Prob not.

The rear Ohlins shock is gold and looks neato! It is in desperate need of improvement, so if you upgrade because of this shock, it is a bad choice IMHO.

The Ohlins forks are bling-bling, and pretty decent, but once again, you could do a lot better. On the street, will you notice it? no. Your best bet would be to spring them right and get your suspension setup properly.

So IMHO if you could find a base 1098 for 8000 or pay 11000 for the S, i'd go 1098 for sure. If it is only $1000-$1500 more for the S, you need to see if its worth it to you personally. Beyond $1500 I wouldnt personally put the $ into it, I'd do the base and spend the $ to upgrade that.

All of this comes from a guy on a 1098S with lots of money invested.

·
Registered
3,054 Posts