Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I ride an F4i but I came over to the Duke forum because I'm thinking about possibly getting a new bike next year or over the winter. Two bikes that I lust over are the new style CBR 1000RR and the 1198 Ducati.
What worries me is the reliability and maintenance costs of the 1198.

I ride more than most people I guess. I've put about 10,000 miles on my bike since late January when I bought it. So if maintenance is significantly more on the Duke it would be hard to justify. I don't want a garage queen, the bike, whichever it is will be ridden and tracked. I can only do basic maintenance, I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. I'd like to hear about it first hand.

Hopefully someone here has ridden both.

How much in maintenance costs are we looking at for say 20,000 miles of riding? I can install basic parts, change fluids etc. but I can't do things like valve adjustments.

How many hours can you guys ride in a day? I've done about 7 hours on my F4i and I don't expect to be able to do that on the 1198. The CBR is about 10 degrees more upright.

How reliable do you guys consider the bike to be? I've heard horror stories about Ducatis but I know the newer ones are better. Does the dry clutch go bad easily? What parts do you guys notice going bad the most often?
The CBR seems more practical, but the 1198 is is just soo damn sexy.

I know this is a lot of questions and a doozie of a first post so I apologize. Thanks for any and all help.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
How much in maintenance costs are we looking at for say 20,000 miles of riding? I can install basic parts, change fluids etc. but I can't do things like valve adjustments.