Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2016 Hypermotard convert to Hyperstrada or other way round?

I love the look of the 2016 Hypermotard SP (SP). And I like the look of the Ohlins forks. But I really need more of a touring bike like the Hyperstrada (HS).

I'm new to Ducati and don't fully understand the differences between them other than the cosmetics. I haven't ruled out a Multistrada (MS).

Is it possible or even practical to convert the SP to be a HS? The specs have it listed as a slightly lower seat, which is attractive to me, too, having only a 29-30" inseam.

Maybe there woudl be advantages to going the other way? That is, getting the cosmetics/graphics of the SP for a HS?

My riding would be around town, short trips, maybe an occasional couple hour trip somewhere. I don't really see myself going on any extended journeys. I will never be off-road with it. I woudl never be on a track. Just an old guy who wants a bike. I don't care for pirate suits so the Ducati looks appealing.

Recommendations?

Thanks,
Scott

·
Registered
273 Posts
2016 Hypermotard convert to Hyperstrada or other way round?

I love the look of the 2016 Hypermotard SP (SP). And I like the look of the Ohlins forks. But I really need more of a touring bike like the Hyperstrada (HS).
more than looks the whole suspensions system is way better, I'd strongly advise on getting a SP, changing the seat, adding the windshield and a luggage system.
First you can do it yourself in a matter of hours. second you can swap back when you want it.
I do that, i have my "commuter" setup and when i hit the track (because.. damn.. that bike is f-ing amazing on a track)...i remove windshield, swap back the seat, remove tankbag, adjust suspension, tire pressure and ready to go.

enjoy your future bike!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·