Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first Ducati and it seems like it's very particular but I have no experience with them. It was sitting for a long time (longer story about how I ended up with it). After a few hundred miles of riding the clutch slave started leaking. I replaced the o-rings, still leaking. Replaced with Oberon's unit, no more leaking. Prior to changing clutch slave I'd occasionally get a shift into a false neutral (which I never knew was a thing). Now with the new slave it's much worse. I was on the freeway and trying to shift and it would not shift no matter how hard I pulled/pushed. I believe I was in 4th. I had to pull off the freeway. It wouldn't shift until I turned it off and back on. I had somewhere to be and I was able to ride it mostly without incident the rest of the day. However I know it's an ongoing problem, I'm sure it will happen again, and I don't want to mess anything up so I don't want to ride it until it's solved. I did a search and there is a lot of information about this, specifically I was looking for Beauwulf's postings. There's also a current thread on the factory return spring and detent arm. I don't know where to start with this. I don't know if there is something that needs adjusting, the return spring, if the line needs bleeding again, or something else entirely. Is there a sticky about this issue or can anyone direct me to the definitive post on this or post your experiences if you've had a similar issue? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also I should mention that the bike has 2000k miles.

This is some of what I've found:

This is a known issue and it stems back to the shift detent cam and 2 screws that should have been loctited. When they loosen up, the detent cam gets gaught on the detent roller. From your description I'd say that's what happened to yours.