Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I bought a 2008 Ducati 1098 sight-unseen that was left sitting in the original owners garage with 2k miles. After hauling it home and giving it a quick rinse, the bike looks like it just came off the production line. Unfortunately, it was not stored properly. My best guess it was on the side stand with a quarter tank of fuel for 8 years or more. Question is, what would you do? This was a very unexpected pickup as I had already recently purchased a bike, but this deal was too good to pass up. It will likely sit a bit longer until I can get around to working on it. Should I just clean out the old fuel and cross my fingers with some fresh go juice or would that be too naive? I am new to working on Ducati 1098 and am not sure what potential pitfalls await. I plan to replace all fluids, but I am not sure if I should be doing any serious internal inspections before turning her over. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I would definitely pull the tank and let it dry out and hope it's not swollen. The belts would be next on my list after sitting for that long.

·
Registered
36 Posts
The injectors will most likely be clogged. Easy to clean with a 9V battery, syringe, some plastic tubing and acetone. Otherwise, yes replace all fluids. Inspect/clean tank and fuel lines. It's worthwhile to upgrade the starter wiring and main ground. Timing belts need replacing too. New battery of course. Keep an eye out for degraded rubber components and wiring. Fork and rear shock fluid may need changing, along with new seals.

Hey put up some photos for interest's sake.

·
Registered
263 Posts