Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was talking to one of the ducati reps and he was saying that if you install an aftermarket accessory that's not approved through ducati, that it would void the warrenty. Like installing new rear turn signal or power commander. With the Termignoni pipes you get the chip for it but what do you do for other exhausts?

·
Registered
78 Posts
My dealer said the same, that's why I went with the full Termi. I wanted to go with another exhaust because I could get it at cost but it would void the warrenty. I am not sure if afermarket slip ons are ok or not. I am assuming once you change the engine program for after market pipes or other performance upgrades you are hosed.

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
I don't know what state you're in, but that statement might just be against the law. I don't know if the Magnuson Moss Act applies to motorcycles or not (I’m not a lawyer) but in the auto world a dealer or auto manufacturer CAN NOT void your warranty if you install anything aftermarket UNLESS they can prove without a doubt that the mod / part / accessory you performed or installed was the DIRECT cause of the damage or malfunction on your vehicle. I know, you always hear otherwise, but that is the actual law.