Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I am just wondering about what would be a good first bike, I really want a streetfighter 848, but don't know if thats too much power? i grew up riding dirt bikes so i have some experience, and I'm not looking to go out and do 150mph or a bunch of wheelies or anything like that, i value my health and my investments because i realize this is an expensive bike. I just love the street fighter have for awhile and would just love to ride one, but also don't want to hurt myself, thanks everyone!

·
Registered
156 Posts
In no particular order:

Kawasaki EX250
Kawasaki EX300
Kawasaki Ninja 650r
Suzuki SV650
Honda CBR 250

I suggest buying an older Ninja 250, they can be had cheap, parts are everywhere, if you buy right you'll get your money back upon resale and ride it for a season. Then make a list of likes and dislikes about the bike. A full riding season later go shopping for a new bike a lot more educated.

Dirt expierence is great but its a world of difference on the street. + don't get hung up on 130+ horse power of the 848, you'll be wasting 75% of it 90% of the time on the street.

I had an 2009 848 and sold it to buy a 2012 Moto Guzzi V7R. The Guzzi is about 100 less HP but is 1000 time more fun to ride on the street.

Good luck.

·
Registered
654 Posts
Buy whatever bike you like. Just be responsible and try to take a safety course, they really can save you. As far as starting small, i dont exactly agree. If youre not an idiot, there is no reason not to get a 600 or an 848. I started on a 600 after i took a safety course. Never raced, wheelied or stunted. Never even put a knee down. I just like the sport/superbike, the way they handle and ride. Good luck, be safe.

·
Registered
200 Posts
I posted in your topic in the other thread but here is my opinion: