Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a lot has to do with the rider, but i wonder if I took out my 998 out with some minor mods would be a joke or could it hold its own?
(yes I know it will be running with bikes that 50hp more. but it the straight the only place where your going to get got?)

Racer input please,

(my 998 has about 135rw hp and with race skins probley make it weigh 400ish lbs)

· Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I want to have my 998 run 1:16 or less at RRR in G.A. and I feel I have the talent for that being as a amateur I was running mid 1:17 on the old track tarmac...How much faster is the track now then it was 10 years ago?

I ran 1:37's at VIR witch took me quite ome getting usto. soo i just hope to get to 1:35's there.

And Ohlins USA is in my back yard and I have Brad Stokes to set up my suspension for me, (I just wish I could take him to the track with me.)

· Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
A work colleague has an 998 which was massaged by Fast by Ferraci and tge engine was dyno'ed at 175hp. It's actually going back for more massaging. As the other guys have said, you already have a great bike. Get it setup and scare the crap out of the guys or more modern bikes :)
Can you PM me or tell me about your friend? And how much $$$$ he has or FBF has in to that motor? how long will that motor last?

· Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 · (Edited)
You can make 150rwhp reliably with the 998 lump with R cam's and high compression pistons. Much over that is RS cam's and raising the rev limit from 11k ish to 13k ish, which reduces the engine life substantially. The RS cam's are pretty magical, but do require a lot of maintenance and are pretty much unobtanium. At least with the 999 "R" cam's, you can sometimes find them on ebay.
So 150 rwhp takes how much higher compresion pistons? and "R" cams ... is that it.... And a race ECU... ya?