Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I live in the city and it's about an hour trip one way to the nearest Ducati service center and the same for Road Atlanta. I have an SUV and no room for a trailer and have gotten sick of renting from Uhaul. Has anyone used a hitch motorcycle carrier?

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
I've been using one for about 7 years with no issues. Everyone asks about it whenever I stop. I have hauled a monster, 848, and speed triple anywhere from a few miles to the dealer to 2,000 miles on a trip. I can fully load and unload in less than 10 minutes by myself. Just make sure you have the proper tongue rating and class hitch. I have air ride on the couple vehicles I use which helps with the auto level. Most of the time I don't even know I'm towing anything. What kind of SUV do you have? check out discountramps.com go for the 600 lb model.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a RAV4 (non-4 wheel drive). I found a local guy selling a 500lb rated one for next to nothing.

I've been using one for about 7 years with no issues. Everyone asks about it whenever I stop. I have hauled a monster, 848, and speed triple anywhere from a few miles to the dealer to 2,000 miles on a trip. I can fully load and unload in less than 10 minutes by myself. Just make sure you have the proper tongue rating and class hitch. I have air ride on the couple vehicles I use which helps with the auto level. Most of the time I don't even know I'm towing anything. What kind of SUV do you have? check out discountramps.com go for the 600 lb model.

·
Registered
8,735 Posts
That's a lot of weight though for a RAV4. Do they even make a hitch receiver that can handle that for small-size SUV's?

·
Registered
1,181 Posts