Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone!

New member here about to buy her first Duc. My last bike was a 2006 R1 LE but I totaled it (not my fault).

So I've been looking around at the 848s, which I love, and I found what seems to be a great deal in my neck of the woods. I'd appreciate some opinions. The bike has tons of great mods but it is an '08 and it does have nearly 30K on the clock.

Thanks for your help. The Craigslist ad is here.

Madison Claire

·
Registered
134 Posts
Other than the Termi full, the mods are relatively cheap. With that many miles I'd say its not a deal. Not sure about your area but here in Denver, 848 EVO go for about 10-12 with 2-5k miles. In my opinion 27k miles isn't worth $2500-4k. I'm new to ducati so I might be completely wrong.
That exhaust is one pretty penny though, might also need a repack and in bad shape too.

·
Registered
816 Posts
I can't see the ad as I'm Barracuda'd out at work, but I'm in San Diego and I could swing by to check it out for you as a favor.

We're all about helping each other out around here! WELCOME!!! :wave:

BTW the 848 is just about the perfect bike for the street if the ergos suit you! I've ridden and raced mine all at the same time since I got her new in June of 2008. Plus, we're all REALLY adept at helping you spend your money on new shiny bits as well. :naughty:

·
Registered
581 Posts
Nope.... I paid 8500 for my 2008 848 with 4300 miles on the clock in Seattle. If you can make the drive or afford to pay a shipper then look north. The riding season is much shorter so the bikes tend to be cheaper and less ridden.

·
Banned
5,501 Posts
@ 30k, the motor is done, fried, cooked. It would need upper and lower rod bearings, crank bearings and new piston rings, at a bare minimal. My 08 848 with 15k on the clock had a bad bottom end when I pulled it apart to turn it into a race motor. I was SHOCKED!!!!