Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All:

I just Picked up my first Ducati and it is an 848 Corse. I have been riding for 25 years or so but never on a hyper sport bike like this one. I have a question or 2. What kind of ballpark mileage should I expect from my Supercorsa's with no track days just some spirited street riding and highway miles? Also how often should I expect to have to tighten the chain? I still have to buy the rear stand and tools.

The big question is should it be really sluggish and shake at 4k-4.5k RPM? I got it used with 1001 miles so it had the break in service and is still completely stock. If I'm in traffic and I let it get below 4K it doesn't want to accelerate at all and will shake and shudder until it gets over 4.5K.

Is this normal because it is essentially a race bike and doesn't like going slow or should I have it looked at?

Thanks in advance,

Bill

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
Let me say this. Ive had many inline4's and a few twins...so Im familiar with both. The sluggish feel that you are describing is something Ive felt too. I also know that my 848evo Corse can power right through that. Ya gotta just keep turning the throttle and it will pick up right out of that dip, right past 5k. Lean on the throttle more and it should pull...maybe a lil slow and chuggy, but it will go. The inlines are much smoother. (my last was a MV F41000 loads of power and way less vibrations)

Its a twin, I ride mine like one. I let the rpms come way down and make the torque push me through, not much downshifitng by me, unless I have to....

·
Registered
4,317 Posts
Is this normal because it is essentially a race bike and doesn't like going slow or should I have it looked at?
Pretty much. It likes to ride right at that sweet spot between 6 and 7k rpm. Above that it's lightning; below that it shakes like a dog shitting razorblades.

Reactions: Ducati black

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
+1