Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys how are you?

Im a 30 years old German male living in the USA for 3.5 years now. I'm currently studying Computer Science.
My Ducati 900ss is my 4th bike know but my first italian Diva. I want to join the forum for technical troubleshooting and giving advices as far i can. I would say i have an average do it yourself level. I know the rules how carburetors and fuel injection works and I'm a trained electronic engineer.
My biggest project was to completely overhaul an 2000 BMW X5 to an facelift 2006 model. That took me about 2 years and i did everything starting with B like bodyworks over Drivetrain, engine and to I like interior. Also all Computerunits replaced and coded. So far, thats about me and my skills.

Anyways, my only question I'm having so far is, why is my 900ss running on only one cylinder in idle? i cleaned the carbs, starting, pilot and main jets. Also the channels behind the jets are clean and the Archangels too. When i have it in idle, i can remove the sparkplugconnector of cylinder one without any rpm change. when i remove cylinder 2 sparkplugconnector and the engine dies. I sprayed starting fluid in the carbs and cylinder one is firing then. also when i go up to about 1400 rpm, its starting. Did anybody have the same problem and has an idea what i could also try? the fuel/air mixture screw has been "adjusted" so its not closed and... yeah like i said... the carbs are cleaned and double-checked several times know. I sprayed brake cleaner into any single jet and air channel and its getting through with a nice steam to every point it should guide to.

Thanks in advance and enjoy your rest of the day.

Greetings

Sack

bought bike with mods and 16000 mls on it: Supertrap muffler
open Airfilter
Dynojet stage 2

·
Registered
6,787 Posts
Welcome aboard Sack. Wilkommen. :)