Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I'm new to Ducatis, and I just purchased a 916 that has been sleeping for eight years. It is a very low mileage (2K miles), 1998 model that was simply never ridden. The tank was bone dry, battery stone dead, and was buried in the back of the previous owner's garage. It is clean as a whistle, and of course he says it ran fine the day he last turned it off.

I changed all the fluids, new battery, new plugs, etc., and am trying to start it. It cranks well, but has no spark to either plug.

Are there any simple things that a newby like me would not be aware of? Electrical interconnects or safety devices such as pulling in the clutch, side-stand down, or other things going on that would be easily missed?

If not, and I need to start looking at the next level, what would you suggest I look at first, second, etc., to start diagnosing the 'no spark' problem.

Thanks much,
Steve

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
Fuses and relays. If it sat that long I'm sure those things need refreshing. Wouldn't hurt to check all the wiring to make sure there complete and covered, no open splicing from critter munching.
I have a '99 996 and getting fresh new relay fuses made a huge difference in mine. It fixed a couple of firing issues I've had in the past.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the quick replies, guys. I checked all the fuses and they are good. Can you educate me a little on the relays I should be checking, and their location? Also too, when I turn on the key, should I hear the fuel pump running?

Steve

·
Registered
8,735 Posts
Yes you should. I was just about to say, are you sure it's a spark issue?? Maybe it's not getting any fuel on the start. If it really is a spark issue, you could always check the spark plugs and replace if necessary.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·