Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Ducati, but not new to riding. I have been on bikes for almost 20 years, both dirt and street, track and touring.
I have narrowed my choices down, and two used bikes that I am looking at stand out.
Given that the price is the same (for all intents and purposes, it is), what would you do:

Option A: Bone stock 2008 white (My preferable color) 848. It has between 4,000 and 5,000 miles, and appears to be in great shape with no cosmetic issues. New tires, battery, hoses, and belts (sounds like most of the 7500 service). All documented dealership work.

Option B: Tastefully modified (and appears to be very well cared for) 2007 red 1098. Full Termi exhaust, Vortex rearsets, double bubble screen, aftermarket levers, newer tires, battery, chain and sprockets. The downside? It has higher mileage, almost 20,000. Again, this one sounds to have been dealer maintained.

I don't need, or particularly lust after the added power of the 1098. However, I am a value minded guy. I know the bigger bike will likely hold value better in the long run. I also know that I will want to do similar mods to the 848 that are already done on the 1098 (and I wont be able to afford a full exhaust system, so would likely settle for slip ons, but still a huge extra expense).

Do I go for the factory fresh, low miles. But with the trade off of more depreciation, and added cost of putting accessories on myself? Or should I pick up a higher mileage, well maintained, and tastefully modified bike that will likely hold its value better?
I have a Concours 1400 for touring, so I am just looking for an around town, backroad bomber that looks as good as it sounds. Perhaps the occasional track day, in the little kids group.

I am open to all opinions. I don't know the Ducati market as well as many of you may.

·
Registered
1,181 Posts