Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I picked up my almost brand new 2014 899 Panigale yesterday with 300 miles only bone stock. It's my first bike and so far loving it! Sold my GTR to get this bad boy!

Was stuck between the white or red color choice but after seeing the red in person I knew it's going home with me.

-Sev
Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Motor vehicle Red Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Motorcycle racer Motorcycling

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
Congrats, it's an awesome machine! Please make sure to wear all your protective gear, all the time!

I also love the red!!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I rode it home with a eBay helmet that I had laying around but the bike is in the garage right now, gonna get some nice gears on my day off, any recommendations on helmets would be appreciated as I said I'm new to riding.

·
Registered
2,127 Posts
Rut Ro… first bike? Panigale 899 and sold a GTR to get it? EEK!!!!

Umm… did you take a basic motorcycle safety course before buying?

Just an FYI, those chest/shoulder/back protectors don't do anything. When you crash, they simply fly off because they're designed to be worn under a tight over garment like a leather jacket or track suit. Out here in So Cal we call riders wearing that sort of gear "squids" because generally they are inexperienced and have fancy bikes. The inexperience comes from having yet to lay their bikes down. Once you crash and realize what happens in a crash, most people wake up and change their attitude. It's better to listen to people with lots of crashing experience like myself, so you know which direction to go in so when it happens to you, at least you've benefited from someone else's experience.