Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm a noob here to Ducati. I recently aquired a 1997 916 and need some help...it is a little sick. Symptoms that the previous owner experienced were stalling inconsistently. He said that the fuel pumps didn't appear to be getting fuel. Now I need to sort this out. Bike needs a little TLC.
Also, how do I figure out which exact model I have and what was considered stock or OEM?
VIN: ZDM1SB8S5VB010555

·
Banned
5,501 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

The 97' 916 was a later generation machine, but still uses the double phase stator unit (one of the biggest identifying features).

Like any old bike, the fueling system is going to need a bit of TLC. Its not difficult to do, but it will require some mechanical know-how and a bit of elbow grease. The fuel filter is located in side the tank, which will require you to remove the tank and the fuel pump plate from the bottom (after dumping the fuel out). The fuel filter used is from a BMW 2002, its very easy to get from any retail parts establishment. You will also need a new fuel pump manifold gasket, as the stock one is probably long since dead. I'd also replace all the hoses inside the tank AND outside the tank at the same time. They go bad due to ozone AND fuel sitting in them.

Once you've got all that done, then try starting it…. bet its much better. I'd also clean the injectors because the contaminated fuel brings debris into them.

In terms of discovering OEM vs aftermarket, a quick picture of the bike will allow us to determine that. Its hard to describe over the forums. :)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tye, below is an email from the previous owner explaining the problems.