Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got my CM three years ago, but couldn't afford the insurance on a bike. I just checked again and now I can. My boss has a 2005 749 Dark with 10,XXX miles and is asking $3000 Just wondering if yall think that is a fair price as I am new to the market of Ducati. I am also a complete greenhorn when it comes to bikes as I spend all of my time on my Jeep.

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Ask for service records for the bike to see when was the last time he did a belt change, valve maintenance...carefully and thoroughly inspect the rearset tabs to see if they are replaced or cracked/bent--crashed bike..original bodywork is a must as well.
$3k is fair/cheap side but as if the bike wasn't wrecked.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Will do, thanks. Valves were done in 2012 and hasn't put many miles on it since then.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Located in TX. This ok for a first bike with limited experience or should I just get a 250 Kawi?

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
A little weird that it doesn't have any sticker on it...they came with clear coat over the Ducati/model designation
Found a picture for ya to compare.
The bike with stock unwrecked body work should have the front fins as such

Attachments

·
Registered
1,997 Posts
A little weird that it doesn't have any sticker on it...they came with clear coat over the Ducati/model designation
Found a picture for ya to compare.
The bike with stock unwrecked body work should have the front fins as such
Yeah, no decals is a bad sign. Unless it's a track bike.

Hopefully it's been discussed.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
^ signs of wrecked since original bodywork did not match..also if you look closely at the pic i posted, the bike you were looking at is missing both front side fins..also, the bike is supposed to have 2-piece belly side fairing vs only one solid piece like the one for sale