Ducati.org forum banner

Does your dealer schedule service

• Total voters
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Ducati world (but not to the motorcycle world) - purchased an 1199 about a month ago. Attempted to schedule my first service and the dealer stated they do not schedule service it is first-come-first-served. Said I have never seen that before at a motorcycle dealer and I thought it was crazy. They stated it was the only way it could be done.

Does your service department schedule appointments or is it a first-come-first-served basis?

·
Registered
1,331 Posts
This will depend upon your dealer. I'm guessing you are in North America? if so it's unlikely you have another dealer close by but any authorised dealer has an obligation to complete your service at the correct interval.

The trouble with dealers is they are a bit like Subway. It's a franchise and no two sandwiches are going to be identical.

But generally if I was booking a service I'd expect to call up, ask them when they can fit me in and then agree an appointment. Much like a Doctor's appointment. Anything else I would find odd.

If you are unhappy with the way your dealer is treating you then call Ducati North America and calmly explain why and ask if that behaviour is to be expected. If they say no, ask them to call the dealer and remind them of their responsibilities to you as a customer. That usually gets someone the kick in the rear needed to get stuff done.

if you are in a different market than NA it's the same advice. I'm in the UK and have often had a few well-timed phone calls made to dealers to make them come around. But you have to remember that a dealer is not Ducati, the company. He's just an authorised reseller.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, North America - Virginia. Exactly what I expected - call and they say yeah we have an opening XX day it will take approx 3 hrs.