Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a 2005 999. Was going to replace the fairly worn rear before I go to a track day this weekend. Well, I waited around and without doing some real hunting, only thing I can get tomorrow is a 190/55/17.

Keep in mind I'm a sport bike novice with only a couple of track days under my belt.

Stock should be a 190/50/17? That's what PO has on there now. Going to a 55 should quicken turn-in right? Which I'm all for except that I don't have any real seat time on this new-to-me bike, therefore nothing to compare it with. What's the downside? Just quicker turning than my novice butt might be ready for??

Last thing....rim stamp looks to read 5.50...hard to read under paint. Is the 190/55/17 workable on a 5.5" rim. Is the stock rim on an '05 999 5.5"

Thanks in advance for any opinions and input. Stoked to be a new member of ya'lls little club.

·
Registered
2,127 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Yea, the 190/55/17 will work fine. The 5.5 wheel for sure prefers a 180/60, but the 190/55 will fit without a problem.

·
Registered
226 Posts
As Tuned noted they'll fine. BTW a great idea to re-skin the wheels rather than risking on a pair of worn tires, IMO biggest mistake fast novice riders make. The rear will be little harder to get all the way down to the edges so don't worry about it, and it'll will wear a little higher up. I'm running 195/65's w/5.5 on my 999 track bike and love them. Might need to drop the rear a few mm to rebalanced.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Thanks for the input and welcome. Put a Metzeler M3 on the back today...short test ride felt good. They were cold but when it slipped it was very gradual and controlled. Very good for me, b/c I'm a moderate novice soon to be Fast Newb.

Taking it COTA on Sunday...yaFNhoooooo. Can't wait!