Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
time to replace the tires. has anyone tried other brands than the rosso 2. i see a lot of reviews about michelins and i have always put those on my cars. I was thinking of switching to them but I am unsure of what the negatives might be. thanks

·
Registered
12,980 Posts
The Rosso Corsa would be a good one to switch to or the Michelin PP3's. If the 821 has characteristic Ducati handling, the Michelin PP 2CT would be a good choice as it's slightly peekier tire will aid in better turn in. It's shape is a little more triangle rather than rounded like PP3 or Rosso's are.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thats my question, should I? I am new to street bikes and didn't know if it could be better. I got 5000mi out of these tires, I would like something that lasted a bit longer if possible. I commute mostly with occasional trips to the dragon but i was reading about the michelin pr4 and how good they were in the rain that would be my only reason but these have been great rain or shine. just like to get advice from more advanced riders who have tried different things.

·
Registered
182 Posts
I highly doubt Rosso Corsa is going to last more than the Rosso 2, it is a softer compound if anything it will last the same or less, a lot less. If you looking for more lean angle grip and don't mind the extra cost go for the Corsa but that is about it.

·
Registered
12,980 Posts
The Rosso Corsa is dual compound so it's center is harder for longer life while the sides are softer for better grip. Best of both worlds. As I said....the Rosso II is your entry level Pirelli. As a Service Writer in a motorcycle shop, I have to know these things as I get it asked a lot.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·