Ducati.org forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would it be correct to assume that if I am a rider that does not wheelie his bike or burn rubber that changing my traction control and abs settings to the most sensitive (highest) in touring mode would give me the best safest ride? Would I notice any annoying tendencies like a cut in power during hard acceleration.

I just purchased a new 2014 Monster S and I am new to Ducati. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Arthur

·
Registered
26 Posts
I think the premise of your question is incorrect. Adjusting those settings as you describe will certainly activate them quicker but they won't make you safer.

Adjusting the ABS will only affect how much it cuts in during braking so won't impact your power delivery.

Traction control on full is a different story though. If you have it on the highest setting then it can cut power when you might not want it to.

I personally would rely more on my skill as a rider rather than having the electronic gizmos on full.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I was wondering.... Will the traction control at its highest setting effect the power delivery on a dry road. Yet still provide maximum safety in an unexpected situation or help keep the wheel down during hard acceleration.

·
Registered
3,652 Posts
First off, traction control is different from wheelie control. They may be combined in the same system but these are two distinct areas. The Bosch ABS unit on the Ducati's actually incorporates the wheelie control (or lift control as they call it) if I recall correctly...