Ducati.org forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I may be in the market for a first bike this summer. I like the tight look of the 748 and a full fairing. What should a new rider get? I'm new to this, so if you wouldn't mind posting a photo along with any suggestions would be helpful.

I've been into muscle cars for about 20 years, and I also have a Corvette. Now that I live near Daytona I'd like to be able to ride. The weather is so great here people ride all year long.

·
Registered
547 Posts
Welcome ! The 748 is a fantastic bike. and would make an excellent 1st bike. Its fast, it has some balls, its not hard to ride, and being a first time rider it will serve you well. Its not "too much" of a bike. My sister has an 02 748s that is kept at my house, and that bike just flat out hauls, i love it! Its hard to imagine how my 1098 is gonna feel to the 748. Look in My registry to see a pic of it.

Before you by any used Ducati, make sure it has all the maintenance records since day one! Ducati's require frequent maintenance in order to keep them running well. Mainly valve adj and belt replacements. this is done every 7500 mi. labor on the full maintenance varies from dealer, but generally is around $ 500-700. If the bike did not have servicing done regularly it can be disastrous. - stay away from these. Parts maintenance and labor for these bikes are expensive, so make sure you know what your getting into before you buy. If the above didn't scare you off, great welcome to the world of Ducati! There is no other bikes like it on the road!

IMO i would also stay away from bikes that have been heavily modified.
If possible i would have a dealer give the bike a good look over.
Have the rockers checked out, there was a problem with some of them, with the plating chipping off. That's something that ducati should still take care of even though its out of warranty.